Deconstructing the letter sent to me by Rep. Tim Walberg (1-26-21)

Deconstructing the letter sent to me by Rep. Tim Walberg (1-26-21)

Letter sent by Rep. Tim Walberg Jan. 26, 2021

Today I received a letter in the U.S. mail sent to my address in Jackson, MI, from Rep. Tim Walberg. It was beautifully formatted on ‘Congress of the United States/House of Representatives’ letterhead. It was signed.

But it was full of platitudes, redirections, and falsehoods about my original message about the Jan. 6, 2021 insurrection, and Tim Walberg’s vote to decertify electors from AZ and PA.

Here are some salient features of the letter

  1. I am addressed as ‘Ms.’ – I am a ‘Dr.’ (I know this is petty, but his office had choices about title)
  2. He thanks me for contacting his office ‘about the recent events that took place at the Capitol building in Washington, D.C.’ –vague – the recent events were a riot in which life was lost and property was damaged and stolen;
  3. Then he says, ‘Like you, I was disgusted over the violence that transpired at the U.S. Capitol on January 6… every lawbreaker should be held accountable . . .’; what a joke – if he was so ‘disgusted’ by the violence, then he would not have voted to obstruct the electors later that evening on Jan. 6; their violence was an expression of over-turning the election; that was why they were there; not to enter into polite discursive exchange;
  4. Then he says (in classic politician double-speak): “Those with legitimate concerns about election integrity should have their voices heard . . .”; WELL, that is exactly the problem, where reality broke down: there were NO ‘LEGITIMATE ELECTION CONCERNS’ only conspiracy ‘beliefs’ and lies perpetuated by the President himself;
  5. Then he says, ‘My focus for that forum was a method to provide greater transparency and raise concerns on behalf of my constituents’: I am your constituent; I never raised any concerns that Joe Biden was not lawfully elected; if some in the 7th did, what was your response? To agree with them? That the ‘election was stolen’?
  6. Then he says, ‘the vote was never about overturning election results’– Oh really? Then what was it about? What else could have been your motive in your high profile, ultra-dramatic vote to not certify electors from states in which you have no business commenting – indeed, I argue that you intended to play to the marginal voices in the 7th that bought into the big lie that Trump ‘won in a landslide’ regardless of the math of the popular AND electoral college vote.

In general, this is a lame write-around political spin letter that tries to back-pedal Wahlberg into a position of moderation; no, he can’t backpedal that far; he instead went too far in voting against certifying legal, lawful, standard electoral votes from states like Arizona. The most law-abiding state ever.

I am more than ever committed to running against Rep. Tim Wahlberg in the 2022 Republican Primary in the Michigan 7th, which is typically listed as ‘solidly’ or ‘safely’ Republican; the only way to beat him is in the primary. Which we will. I am an Austin Blair Republican.

Leave a comment