Road to Bali (documentary)

Road to Bali

Here is the link and synopsis of Road to Bali, a short documentary film that I made with my son, the film-maker Jon Casey. I am the Executive Producer, as well as co-writer + editor.  We have submitted it to TCFF [Traverse City Film Festival, July 2017].

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lr_7IkrLnNQ&feature=youtu.be

Short summary: Road to Bali is a short documentary about a transformative trip to Indonesia in late 2016, and the ‘road’ it took to get there: a year of trouble, including three hospitalizations, six days in jail, and diagnosis of Schizophrenia. Film maker Jon Casey narrates this tale of surviving mental illness.

Full SYNOPSIS:  Road to Bali is a short documentary about a transformative trip to Bali, Indonesia in early 2017, and the ‘road’ it took to get there: a year of trouble, including three hospitalizations, six days in jail, and a final diagnosis of Schizophrenia. The message of my film, while romantic, is that travel can cure you, and change your mind, literally. While I was struggling all last year, the dream of going to Bali, Indonesia was what kept me going. Two days after I was released from a psychiatric facility in Columbia, SC, in December, a place I had been involuntarily committed to twice in 2016, I booked my flight to Jakarta, with my doctor’s blessings, as he said I was safe to travel. But instead of just traveling for pleasure, I would have two goals: meeting my girlfriend You-Lin in Bandung, and gathering lots of footage to tell the story of how Indonesia saved me. Road to Bali features original footage filmed in Jakarta, Bandung, Yogikarta, Borobodur, Prambanan, (on the Island of Java), and sites on the island of Bali like Denpasar and Bali’s famous surf beaches. The 6th ‘Road’ film, The Road to Bali (1952), starring Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, and Dorothy Lamour, will work as its ironic super structure, as it is part of a fanciful, Hollywood musical franchise, the opposite of a serious documentary. The film will have a non-linear, fragmented style, as with my other work, such as the music video, “Consumerism” which I did for Lauryn Hill in 2014.

Who is the filmmaker?

Jon Casey is a 2010 graduate of Los Angeles City College (LACC) Cinema Production program; he has lived and worked in LA since 2009. In 2014, began a travel and research project for a film on the French painter Claude Monet. In 2016, he suffered several psychotic episodes that landed him in jail and the hospital. Currently, he is in recovery in the Tempe, AZ area, but he has ties to Michigan. He was born in the Detroit area, and worked as a TCFF volunteer videographer in 2008 and 2009, where he briefly met Michael Moore.

https://www.joncaseyfilms.com/

 

Leave a Reply

